DILEMMA (Final Episode)

We took a bus down to Nneka’s  village.When we got to her compound, I saw a woman, surrounded by other women, they were consoling hej7r ”its alright.She would be found..’I dont need soothsayer to tell me that the poor woman was Nneka’s mother. I felt sorry for her plight. I wasuuu filled with guilt.”But I didn’t kill her, I am innocent.I wished her daughter could just come back to life and say to her”mama its alright. I’m here”. 

When she caught sight of us, she ran towards us and held the poor girl with me,Nneka’s  room mate “where is my daughter!”she yelled. It took people’s effort to let her go off the helpless girl. I should be held, not her.I heard a voice calling me. I turned and it was Nneka . I shifted backwards in fear. I was about to run, but where to? “Tell my parents what happened” she said thrice, with a voice re-echoing in my head over and over again.She disappeared. I knew other people didn’t see her. I had to act fast before I die of fear before my time.

I called her parent aside with great courage.I told them that their daughter is dead and has been appearing to me.Immediately I said that, she appeared to me and said with a thunderous voice, “Tell them what actually happened before I kill you here” I confessed for the very first time.Her mother was like strangling me to death.I sustained bruises from her rage. It was the man who even saved me. He demanded to see my parents. My heart skipped a bit. He was really angry and sorrowful. I could see it written over his face.

We arrived at my parents compound.(Nneka’s parents, myself, the room mate and Nneka’s uncle) It was a thing of shame for him as I was forced to re-confess. My parents were disappointed in me. My father ceased my phone.I couldn’t raise my face up as I faced the ground. Some people gathered. I felt like I should just die and leave everything.

After sometime, Nneka appeared for everybody to see. It was a serious scene.Some people ran and stopped at some point to observe while some stayed out. Even her mother was terrified. Nneka told everybody that I didn’t kill her. She said her asthma disease did.

I was a bit relieved but I was not really myself at that point. I was surprised when she pleaded with her parents to let me go.She finally told her parents to go to the police and tell them they are her parents so that they would be given her corpse at the mortuary, as ordered by the school.

Before she disappeared, she looked at me,smiled and said” I have forgiven you, Jude”

Hours passed into days. Days into weeks and weeks into months.I had learnt my lesson. Social network nearly killed me. I lost my parents trusts,concentration with studies and my good name.

But above all, I prayed to God to forgive me.

************* The end *************

THANK YOU ALL FOR READING.

Like and follow my blog for more stories

Leave a comment