NEVER COMPARE YOUR PARTNER TO SOMEONE

Never compare your partner to someone else – Joe Baidoo

As humans we all have our flaws but one painful thing to deal with is seeing your flaws used against you, and that too by the very people you love and care so much for.

I don’t know if your partner has ever made you feel like you are not enough or not doing enough for him or her by comparing you to others, but I just experienced that and it isn’t a nice feeling to deal with at all especially if it is not the first time.

Comparing your partner to your friends is very disastrous; I was really broken-hearted when I saw my partner doing this and the most painful part of it was that, I saw it on her status, where everyone in her contact could see. I usually like wishing people on the New Year but I decided to at least wish her a Merry Christmas so I sent a short text saying “Merry Christmas to you” and she replied “Mmmm. Merry Christmas to you also” and I replied thanks.

So I thought that was all only to check her status in the morning to see a screenshot of her friend wishing her merry Christmas with a lengthy text and the caption “Friends could send this message how much more you”. This really made me sad because it seems she has forgotten everything; the number of poems I wrote in her name, and not just wrote in her name but published on this site where everyone could see.

She made me feel I have never been enough and would never be enough for her. I was waiting for the New Year to wish her a great new beginning but she was just impatient. It hurts me she can’t see how much of a priority she is to me and how much I love her. She is one kind of person that I am ready to give up everything just to make her happy, but it seems she can’t see it, or it probably isn’t enough for her.

Even if she had a problem with the text I sent she could have told me directly in our private chat other than posting it on her WhatsApp Status. I felt disgraced and humiliated, and to be honest, this has really caused a change in how I think she thinks about.

So I want to use this opportunity to give you a tip, never compare your partner to anyone ever. Imagine if your partner compares you to others with statements like “Even your friend is better than you”, “Your friend knows how to do it better than you”, and “My friend cares about me more than you do”. How would you feel if your partner says these to you?

No one likes to be compared to others. We are all unique coming from unique backgrounds and having unique beliefs and principles. I don’t know what will happen the next time such a thing repeats itself because I can’t imagine myself spending a lifetime with someone who thinks I am not enough for her. Don’t allow this to be you.

Check out our Photography page “Five Star Media” and follow us on all Social Media Platforms @ Five Star Media

Leave a comment