AN ADVICE FROM MY EX

One day after I had finished taking a nap and was going through WhatsApp status posts, I came across a post of my ex girlfriend and it was a video post.

Lovers with differences

In the video was a pastor preaching and saying if you’ve been dating a man for over five (5) years and the man has not discussed marriage with you or has not made-up his mind to marry you and is always giving the excuse that he’s still studying you, you need to take a bold step as a lady and cut him off (break up with him) else the right person will never come into your life.

She captioned the video post on her status and said “Take a bold step my dear sisters. Cut him off” with some funny laughing emojis. The first thing I said was you cut me off even when I showed seriousness in you and planned the future with you, and also with you in it till the end. But here you are telling your fellow ladies to take a bold step and cut their lovers off just as you cut me off without a reason; as at now she’s not been able to tell me the particular reason why she left me. I guess there’s just no tangible or pardonable reason.

I found the post to be very funny because here was one person I really loved and was willing to swim across the cold ocean to rescue her and walk on the edge of the knife to make sure she’s safe; in fact I was willing to make her happiness my mission even if it is at the expense of mine. But she left without a reason even when she had it all. It sometimes leaves me wondering if women can be pleased at all. (Let me know what you think about that in the comments section).

My ex’s post

All I would like to say to you is to be careful of the people you take advise from. Some are drowning and are bent on drowning with others. Although I admit it is not every relationships that need to or can survive, neither is it every relationship that you also need to end.

Sometimes all you need to do to make it work is to communicate. I believe if my ex had communicated well with me, things would have been different then. So if you’re in such a relationship where the guy has not said anything concerning marriage or is not doing something you like, instead of taking the bold step to cut him off, take the bold step to talk to him about it. Talk to him and find out his intentions and plans for you concerning the future; find out why he isn’t doing what you like.

Talk to him and see if you can work it out, because it is not every relationship that needs to end; don’t kill it whiles there’s still life in it, unless you want to be charged with murder.

Leave a comment