MY MELANIN ANGEL

My Melanin Angel

It’s a busy Friday morning and it’s a rush hour
Standing by the roadside waiting for a saviour
Million cars passed by but none blinks an eye at me
Lo, I was blessed with a lift but I denied it with a no
Not because I didn’t like it
But because there was something else in charge
Controlling me and keeping me within the perfect time frame
Not to be a minute earlier nor a minute late
And not to miss the blessing awaiting me
The blessing in disguise of a dark crystal
My black melanin angel from the Knights
Who makes black shine like golden stars in my lonely nights

An old rugged car pulled off in front of me
Yelling Accra Tema Station Post
And I thought there’d be nothing beautiful in the day
Not knowing there was something beautiful coming my way
Not to just come my way but to make my day the day
Got to my destination only to be greeted by the sight of an angel
Separated by the windscreen of the old rugged car
And staring at her hoping to be noticed by her from far
But my world came crushing down as she passed me by
Passing by without a hi or a goodbye
My angel is a black melanin
And she makes black shine like golden stars in my lonely nights

Like love at first sight I couldn’t look at her twice
Fearing to lose sight of her beautiful crystal eyes
An eye that goes deeper than the depth of the ocean
Making me lost in the middle of nowhere
Like a fragile dove she got me hypnotized
Ready to be slaughtered on her altar of love
As my tongue was glued with honey and butter
I knew not a single word to utter
Till she looked back at me and said with a beautiful smile
I am your angel ready to carry you off like the Nile

She called me by my name Joe and she said her name is Nana
I got back into reality hoping it is just an illusion
But there she was, standing right in front of me
Like a bride, ready to tie the knot with me
All I said was nanana
Like a new born baby learning to say my first words
Yeah I guess I have been reborn after meeting her
My hopes are floating on top of the oceans
And my frozen heart is now burning alive with passion
She is my angel and she is a melanin
Making black shine in the dark like golden stars in my lonely night.

READ ALSO: FROZEN HEART

Leave a comment