MY COVID-19 & LOCKDOWN EXPERIENCE – RICHMOND JOE BAIDOO (20130013)

The Corona Virus epidemic, has been a global issue since It was first reported to the World Health Organization office in China on December 31, 2019.

Ghana recorded it’s first two cases on March 12, 2020, which led to some preventive measures by the government to contain it. The measures taken included shutting down all Educational Institutions which affected me greatly as a newly admitted student of the National Film and Television Institute, because I was very eager to attend lectures and experience University lifestyle.

It also affected my work a lot; the number of customers dropped drastically. My means of transportation weren’t affected, but I had issues with food. I spent my days blogging, reading, watching movies, and playing video games. The Covid-19 outbreak also helped me to develop the habit of practicing good personal hygiene.

During this period, I decided to research the pandemic and got a lot of discoveries which I posted on my blog. I then researched ways to build the immune system to fight against infections and came up with a lot of solutions which I published on my blog. I also discovered one movie titled Contagion, which I first saw at NAFTI. The movie featured a pandemic which relates to the Novel Coronavirus so I made a blog post about how it’s related to the Covid-19.

Later on Saturday morning, I woke up to the news that there’s going to be a lockdown so I decided to go to the market and buy some provisions so I don’t struggle during the lockdown. As at that time, I had not received my salary, though I should’ve received it a day before, and I had used all my savings for my admission fees so with the little I had, I picked a car to Tema Station and bought the basic things I could afford.

On Monday, I woke up around 8:00am, and took some porridge. After eating, I watched the news and some movies. In the evening, I ate some of the cereal I had bought from the market and went to bed. The following days continued with the same routine of waking up, making breakfast, watching movies, taking some snacks and sometimes “Gari Soakings”, watching movies, finding food to eat in the evening, and going to sleep (I was basically practicing “Adi Das”). I stayed indoors the whole time and started getting bored because I live alone and there was no one to talk to.

During all this while, I didn’t hear anything from my employer concerning my salary and the little money I had on me was also getting finished. I also had my mom calling and complaining that they don’t have anything in the house so I had to do something I never feel comfortable doing; asking my beloved for financial assistance but she gladly did. So I sent part of the money to my mom and kept the rest.

These experiences taught me great lessons about spending wisely and not trusting or depending on my job.

Leave a comment